Chikkaballapura, Gowribidanur, Gudibanda, Bagepalli, Sidlaghatta, Chintamani, Kaivara, Kaivara Thatayya, Amaranarayana temple, Minkanagurki, Nandi Hills or Nandidurg, Rangasthala, Vidurashwatha
Chikkaballapura, Gowribidanur, Gudibanda, Bagepalli, Sidlaghatta, Chintamani, Kaivara, Kaivara Thatayya, Amaranarayana temple, Minkanagurki, Nandi Hills or Nandidurg, Rangasthala, Vidurashwatha
Choose destination in Karnataka

Explore District

Karnataka Heritage
Divine Karnataka
Beaches in Karnataka
Adventure & Hill Station
Nature & Wildlife
Waterfalls in Karnataka
Districts of Karnataka
Follow us


Chikkaballapura district is a newly created district of Karnataka in 2007. It was carved out of the existing Kolar district by moving the taluks of Gowribidanur, Gudibanda, Bagepalli, Chikkaballapura, Sidlaghatta and Chintamani into the new district.

Chintamani is names after its founder Chintamani Rao, a Maratha chieftain who had camped in this place long ago. Chintamani is also well-known for Agarbatti (incense) manufacturing and export.

The other attraction of Chintamani is the temple at Kailasagiri. This is a famous cave temple located on the hill. There are three shrines in Kailasagiri dedicated to Lord Shiva, Goddess Parvathi and Lord Ganesha.

The Murugmulla Dargah of Fakhi Shah Wali (one of the oldest dargahs in Karnataka) about 8 km from Chintamani, attracts thousands of pilgrims during its annual Urs.

Kaivara is associated with he Hindu epic, Mahabharatha. Kaivara was known as Ekachakrapura in Dwaparayuga. The Pandavas of India's greatest epic lived here during their exile. Kaivara is also famous for the saint called Narayanappa or popularly known as Kaivara Thatayya in Kannada & Telugu. Saint Narayanappa has written number of predictions about forthcoming events called Kaala Jnana. The main attractions of Kaivara are temples of Amaranarayana and Bhimeshwara. The ashram of Yogi Narayana is also worth visiting.

The main attraction of Minkanagurki is Meheshwaramma temple has gardens growing sacred plants and trees. This temple has a special Navagrahavana portion dedicated to the nine planets.

Nandi Hills
Nandi Hills or Nandidurg is a hill fortress in the Chikkaballapura district. It is located just 5 km from Chikkaballapura Taluk and 65 km from Bangalore. Nandi Hills is at 1,478 meters above sea level. Nandi Hills was once the summer resort of Tipu Sultan. The charming landscape is graced by two 1000-year-old Shiva temples, one at the base and the other at the top of the hills. The main attractions of Nandi hills are Tippu's Drop (a 600 meter high cliff from where Tippu Sultan made his prisoners fall), Tippu's Summer Residence, and temples dedicated to Sri Bhoga Narasimha, Sri Ugra Narasimha and Sri Yoga Narasimha.

The main attraction of Rangasthala of Chikkaballapura is a beautiful temple dedicated to Lord Ranganatha (Vishnu). The temple is built in the Vijayanagar style.

The name Vidurashwatha is derived from that of a big Ashwatha (Ficus religiosa) tree located in this village. It is believed that this tree was planted by "Vidura", during the times of Mahabharata and hence the name Vidurashwatha. Unfortunately, in the year 2001, this ancient tree fell to the ground. Vidurashwatha is also known as the Jallianwala Bagh of the South which played major role to play in the freedom movement of India.

Enquiry Form

Please send us your enquiry and we will respond within 24 to 48 hours.

E-mail address
Contact Number
I would like to recieve Promotional Offer Emails and Newsletters.
DISCLAIMER: The content provided in this article is not warranted or guaranteed by The content provided is intended for entertainment and/or educational purposes in order to introduce to the reader about Karnataka. All the contents of this web-site are only for general information to read. We are not liable for any negative consequences that may result from implementing any information covered in our articles. Click here to read our disclaimer.
Chikkaballapura - © 2021 - Karnataka Holidays, All Rights Reserved.